PDA

View Full Version : Fire Building Club

Bear
18-05-09, 03:43 PM
Following on from the delectable Messies wonderful work on organising the AR venue, and even possibly sorting out us having a fire, there is some prep that needs doing before hand.

AFAIK (and this will need confirming) the venue have insisted that in order to have a fire we need to remove the turf where we are having the fire, ensure the fire is contained, and replace the turf afterwards (IE the venue must look as pristine afterwards as it did before we got there!)

Now, I have no experience whatsoever at turfing. I've been told I'm a sod before, and I'm sure that's somehow connected, but I don't think it entirely qualifies me. Has anyone got the know how to guide me and a team of like minded (IE Half-witted) labourers*, and can I have some volunteers to do some of the work? I'm thinking if we go down there the weekend before the AR, remove the turf and fetch firewood then that's most of the hard work done and we can concentrate on getting drunk and letting me have sex at, on, or in all of you lovely people.

(edit)*Please only vote yes to lead if you have experience. The last thing I want is for us to hideously mess up their lawn because we thought "How hard could it be?"...

Grinch
18-05-09, 03:47 PM
I can help if you travel down in the week as I'll be in London, else sod off I'm in Portsmouth and will be busy.

Spiderman
18-05-09, 03:49 PM
I know sod all too about turfs or are they turves? See, told you i know nothing.

But i do know a good bit of firewood when i see it so count me in for the finding/lifting/carrying bit ;)

Messie
18-05-09, 03:52 PM
LOL. You beat me to it Bear!

Maybe some of the Essex peeps have knowledge of wood?

SoulKiss
18-05-09, 03:56 PM
Well as I have done this before I vote for me :)

We will need, shovels to dig up the turf, if we can put the cut turf onto a tarp then that would be good.

Large stones/bricks