PDA

View Full Version : Do you need a centerstand for oil changes?

spikeysam
25-03-10, 12:19 AM
As a SV650S newbie, I'm about to attempt my first oil change.

Do I need to buy a swing-arm stand or center stand before one can do an oil change, or can an oil change be done without much difficulty from just the kick-stand?

Thanks again!!

Spikey

simesb
25-03-10, 12:23 AM
Don't think you would get all the oil out unless you held it upright after the last had come out whilst on the side stand. Paddock stands make a whole lot of things easier - a worthwhile investment,

Barrypz
25-03-10, 12:23 AM
You really want the bike upright to get the right amount of oil in. You could have somebody hold it up. Also want to make sure the drain plug is the low point when you drain.
Don't make the mistake of using the sightglass with the bike on the side stand.

5hort5
25-03-10, 12:30 AM
Last oil change I did was on the side stand, you get most out.

Just read the haynes manual (if you haven't got on, get one, you may get a cheap one off ebay), and there is nothing about putting the bike on a stand or anything like that, it just says warm the engine up so that the oil drains easily. If you know when the oil was last changed then great if not then probably worth changing the filter at the same time and when fitting the oil drain plug back again it's best to have a new crush washer but many have put the old one back on with no probs. (Note: if you do this then check for oil leaks regularly for a few days after)

Edit - and DON'T buy cheap oil, it's a false economy

spikeysam
25-03-10, 01:16 AM
Wow thanks for the reply. What do you mean by it's a false economy? I bought some $4.99 a bottle, so 4 bottles which is more than enough for the SV650S only costed me a paltry $15 bucks USD. But it does say Castrol and I have heard of Castrol, and it says it's for motorcycles.

Should I be returning this stuff for more expensive oil?

21QUEST
25-03-10, 01:19 AM