PDA

View Full Version : Advice for buying SV650 S

Chobblington
25-03-10, 04:43 PM
Hi All,

I am very much a noob here and was hoping someone could give me some advice.

I am due to take my DAS tests in April and am looking to buy my first decent bike. I have found a SV650 S X reg (2000) in pretty good condition with about 8 and a half thousand miles on the clock. It's currently SORN but apparently been looked after whilst off the road.

The speedo is in KM so it's obviously an import.

Any idea what the value should be for a bike like this and what I should look out for when viewing it?

Cheers,

Jeff

(P.S. hope I have posted this in the correct section!)

the_lone_wolf
25-03-10, 04:46 PM
8000m is extremely low for a 10 year old bike...

My concerns would be that it's sat unused for extended periods without being properly serviced or cared for

Or that the clocks have been swapped at some point

There's a lot of bikes for sale, I'd be inclined to pass this one over unless it's ridiculously cheap

Mej
25-03-10, 04:50 PM
bike trader is full of bargain SVs at the moment so i wouldnt rush into buying one.

Chobblington
25-03-10, 04:50 PM
I was thinking that about the low mileage as well. However, it comes with MOT history as follows:

August 2009 8428 miles August 2008 7195 miles
August 2007 6602 miles
August 2006 3698 miles

the_lone_wolf
25-03-10, 04:55 PM
I was thinking that about the low mileage as well. However, it comes with MOT history as follows:

August 2009 8428 miles August 2008 7195 miles
August 2007 6602 miles
August 2006 3698 miles

Was it imported in 2006?

If not there should be MOTs for 2003-2005 as well

If it has history then it adds credance to the seller

But at the end of the day it's an import, you may have (not insurmountable) issues with insurance and parts

As above, it's have to be pretty cheap to tempt me away from the other UK bikes on sale:cool:

Chobblington
25-03-10, 04:58 PM