PDA

View Full Version : Chain clean and lube?

zombie
17-06-12, 08:43 AM
Hi

I have a 2005 SV. I think its pointy (I am going by the petrol tank shape, that may be wrong...)

Only been riding a year, love riding and the bike, but I am a total beginner on maintaining it.

Chain lube query please, I could not find the answer to this using "search".

I have bought some Wurth High Performance Dry Motorcycle Chain Lube. Is it just the case that I can spray this on the chain (when it is warm) and leave it to dry?

Is it essential to clean the chain first, or will this do that too? If I need to clean it, what's the easiest way? Will wiping with a towel suffice?

If I ride 40 miles a day (commuting) how often do I need to do this?

I am happy to have a go at it, but want to avoid doing more harm than good!

Cheers

Z

rictus01
17-06-12, 09:33 AM
Hi, your question is one that will divide opinion, some are rather pedantic about chain cleaning, I've not cleaned a chain in about 30 years and that was only the technology of the time ment heating solid grease to liquid form and soaking the chain in it, which now is no longer the case, whilst regular checks are the order of the day a scottoiler takes care of the chain without much else in the way of effort.

the basics for you, modern chains are normally sealed with either "O" or "X" rings which retain lubrication around the pin, it's important for chain longevity to prevent the chain seals from drying out; as when this happens the seal will dry out and fail resulting in wear prematurely, to prevent this you should lube the chain every 250-300 miles (although more often in wet/dusty/dirty conditions).

Chain lube comes it a variety of forms from a simple spray grease type to specially formulated oil types,regular application is far more important than what type you prefer, should you find the chain excessively "gritty" there is no harm in a wipe over (oily rag will do), but generally you can just apply directly to the chain.