PDA

View Full Version : MOT Tyre

gazzamikes
17-02-15, 08:20 PM
Evening everyone,

took the bike for its MOT this morning, passed not problem apart from two advisories;

1 being the drive chain was too slack but 10 mins later sorted :)

the second being the front tyre getting low, so my question is what tyre would you recommend? I've been looking at the maxxis or the michellin pilot

thanks for the help!!!!

Nutsinatin
17-02-15, 08:28 PM
My preference is for the Pilot Road 4's but you'll get a host of opinions. Which bike is is and what do you want from the tyre; big miles, wet grip, sports handling? What sort of riding do you do?

gazzamikes
17-02-15, 08:34 PM
its a 2003 pointy 650s, to be honest I'm not experienced enough yet to be throwing it around corners only had it since end of oct, don't do a huge amount of wet riding

yokohama
18-02-15, 08:17 AM
What's on the back and how much life has it got left? You need to think about compatibility unless you intend on replacing both.

NTECUK
18-02-15, 09:47 AM
A good tyre is less than your insurance exsse.....

dw22
18-02-15, 11:06 AM
Michelin pilot road 3's if you want to save some pennies, Ive had the 3's and rate them highly.

munkygunn182
18-02-15, 11:39 AM
+1 for the Pilot Road 3's. Swapped to them Pirelli Diablo Corsa's - world of difference and I'm not sure I could recommend anything over them anymore. Even looking at swapping my BMW to them.

NTECUK
18-02-15, 11:54 AM
3's squirrel under hard braking. 4's don't

Nutsinatin
18-02-15, 06:42 PM