PDA

View Full Version : Carbon versus Titanium end can

enzyme
22-10-04, 11:27 AM
Hi ,
I'm new to biking and was wondering if anyone could shed light on the pros/cons of carbon/titanium end cans. I like the carbon ones cos they would match my black sv but I've heard that they aren't as strong or as suitable for day to day riding. Is this correct?

Thanks

wigan650s
22-10-04, 11:41 AM
if i remember rightly carbon are titanium with a carbon cover anyway so it would come down to looks..i find carbon is easier to keep clean if that helps

rictus01
22-10-04, 12:33 PM
Having had just about every sort of can over the years, most of the carbon race cans are just foil lined and not metal sleeved. the road legal one could be different though.

depending on make, carbon are lighter and easier to keep clean.

however they are more fragile and can crack in a spill. also if not re-packed you can get the carbon bubble or even burn through.

Titainiun, has a matt finish so perhaps doesn't look as good, is generally quite strong, however can split when dented badly. it won't burn or bubble up if not re-packed regularly, but may dis-colour a bit..

Stainless, is the most durable (but heavy) alloy is the cheapest.

it very much depends on what your use of the bike is going to be ?

i'd say the Carbon are the best looking, but do stay on top of the re-packing (about every 4000 mls or so) also if you're fairly new to biking, then perhaps something stronger would be in order.

Titanium, is seen as "cool" as well, gives a bit more durability,doesn't need as much cleaning (as it's a matt finish) and you can get away with re-packing less frequently, although you can get the coloured titanium cans (not a great fan, bit tacky IMO).

Hope this helps

Cheers Mark.

enzyme
22-10-04, 01:46 PM
Thanks for the replies,

main usage of the can is going to be to wake up those london car drivers on my commute to work everyday so I'm thinking something stronger is probably better/safer in the longrun.