PDA

View Full Version : Career change...

Jdubya
17-07-06, 08:09 PM
Anyone done this :?: Was it easy :?: Was it a smooth transition and are you glad you did it :?: I've just had enough of my current job and have tried different companies, different disciplines, etc. but have come to the realisation that it is what I do that most annoys me and that perhaps I made the wrong decision after leaving school :? Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I'm not too sure what I want to do yet but whatever it is will have to pay the mortgage and cover expenses. :? :?

TVR_Tracy
17-07-06, 08:18 PM
I've just had enough of my current job and have tried different companies, different disciplines, etc.

Examples of?

I'm away to ditch science (my safety blanket) next year and head to the city for something completely different (IT, finance or something else, I'm still undecided) I have an MSc in computing, so should be able to make that transition easier than other biochem graduates... I was a bit unsure at first, but talking to Rictus last week at the Guildford meet, I feel it is possible :) (Thanks Rictus).

Good luck J :)

lynw
17-07-06, 08:20 PM
Yes.
Sort of.
Yes.

If you know you're not happy then first of all you need to consider what it is you want to do instead. Give that a lot of thought and research before deciding.

Next consider what you have to consider how to do it. Do you need retraining/qualifications/certifications to show you can do the job? If so, consider how to get them - though I suspect studying while working will be the only option. However, consider most employers look favourably on getting qualifications while working - shows you can manage your time and commitments well and are prepared to put a lot of effort into it.

Also consider the cost of how to get those certifications and whether your family can afford it.