SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum (http://forums.sv650.org/index.php)
-   Bikes - Talk & Issues (http://forums.sv650.org/forumdisplay.php?f=129)
-   -   First Bike, Seems like a wrong choice...Any advice please? (http://forums.sv650.org/showthread.php?t=146631)

airbornesnake 14-02-10 10:03 AM

First Bike, Seems like a wrong choice...Any advice please?

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to this forum, though I checked out a few threads on here prior to buying my first bike; a 2000 fully faired SV650s..So my problem:

I am a complete novice to the motorcycling world, have no driving experience, did fairly terrible on my CBT(did it twice!), yet decided to buy a 650cc bike for a first bike without ever sitting on any bike greater than a 125cc! The distance involved in the purchase meant that I couldn't try it out as it were before paying for it.
So now I have the bike, but power seems a bit too much for a beginner! I'm never relaxed any time I sit on this bike. I'm in the process of doing my restricted licence at the moment but this whole experience has put me off biking slightly....So my question is:

Is this a common phenomenon for newbie bikers? Will I get used to it after a while? Will restricting this bike tame the 'tiger'? Or should I part exchange or sell it for a 125cc bike?Any general advice welcome. Many thanks

timwilky 14-02-10 10:07 AM

Re: First Bike, Seems like a wrong choice...Any advice please?

The SV is not a powerful bike. I know one lass who got an R1 as her first bike. The throttle works in two ways, you just need to know how to turn in away from you.

cutting its balls when you get road legal will have little effect as it really only affects the top end, not how it gets there.

It is a fun bike to learn to ride on, once get over your initial trepidation, you will have a huge smile and wonder what the fuss was all about

Drew Carey 14-02-10 10:10 AM