SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 16-02-05, 12:15 PM   #1
Carsick

Default Servicing Costs

Hey,

I know this topic goes round and round and round, but I'm going to bring it up yet again.

My K4 needs it's 7.5k service (600 miles late, but oh well) and I've just been quoted £220 by my dealer.
They say that it needs oil, oil-filter, air-filter, plugs and synchronizing the throttle bodies as well as the normal adjustments and so on.

Now, I know I'm not a mechanic, but the servicing book just says that out of those, only the plugs and oil need doing, the air-filter just needs inspecting.

I am going to do all the basics myself, anyway, just because I refuse to pay so much for stuff I'm capable of doing myself.
but my question is, are they taking the p*ss with this quote?

What should I be able to get them down to if I do all of that normal stuff myself and just get to inspect the bike and make the necessary adjustments to get me my stamp?
Old 16-02-05, 12:33 PM   #2
Mogs

Fowlers of Bristol have a fixed price quote see here

http://www.fowlers.co.uk/service.html#

I've just had mine done at the local dealers and the cost was about £160
Old 16-02-05, 12:38 PM   #3
jamieclayton9

that is a tad dear. its more your choice on the oil and air filter. they will try and change it every time because it will keep them in pocket. a fully syn oil and filter is only tops of £30 and air filter tops of a tenner and a set of plugs tops of £15. all the rest is labour. i would say do it yourself its just when yout missing that dealer stamp from your service book it devaluates your bike a bit. you get proper stuck in the middle. good luck iver way. cheers jamie
Old 16-02-05, 12:48 PM   #4
Scoobs
Vipers Pillion Bitch
Mega Poster

Carsick,

Where are you going?

Rob Willsher? Crescent?