SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 27-03-24, 02:10 PM   #1
henrythenoob

Question SV650S project

Hey guys,

I'm planning my first project on my SV650S and I have a few questions.

The project is mainly to turn my SV650S on a naked version, so, these are the plans:

1 - Front fairings will be removed
2 - New indicators
3 - Clutch and brake levers will be replaced with new ones

Those are the things that I can do kind of immediately as I have the parts.

And here is where it starts to get blurry for me...I want to take out the fairings, install a new headlight, install a new gauge cluster and handlebar conversion kit. You see...I'm not a mechanic and have never worked on motorbikes, my first time working on a motorbike was last week changing oil for this motorbike and it was quite successful (the bike didn't explode or turn into a big fire, plus the oil level is perfect).

For instruments I would like some suggestions, I was looking for some SV650N Gauge Clusters but couldn't find anything, I live in Ireland and looked on ebay but wasn't able to find anything for a SV650N only for the SV650S. If I can't find any used cluster, is there any other cluster I could use? I've seen the Vapor panel but I'm not sure if I feel comfortable needing to solder stuff.

About the headlight, I've seen a few LED Universal Headlights (like this one https://amzn.eu/d/8yaobTj). Is there anything needed to this one? Apart from the original wiring from the SV650?