SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 20-05-12, 09:06 AM   #1
thefallenangel

Default Underfloor heating, Yay or Nay?

I'm looking into buying a run down terraced house. The place needs gutting and starting again and i am after the mighty 'orgs knowledge.

Is underfloor heating a good solution for a terraced house?

My + Points so far from looking are:

1. I am an electrician by trade so putting it in isn't a problem.
2. Everyone says it's brilliant and makes feet feel toasty and warm.

My - points are:

1. It's expensive compared to a combi boiler which as the house has no heating seems the easiest route to go down as at about £2-£2.5k for a complete new system fitted seems cheaper than the £1200 for underfloor heating i estimate i need plus then a hot water supply too for showers etc . . .
2. As i am gutting the house and starting from scratch, i think it might be easier to put the combi boiler in as it needs rewire, kitchen, bathroom etc. . and just be one less job to do.

So is it worth the hassle even perhaps for say the living room and bedroom?
Old 20-05-12, 09:15 AM   #2
Specialone

Default Re: Underfloor heating, Yay or Nay?

I've fitted a fair few electric matting types, but not the hot water type.

IMO, they will take the chill off but not heat the room, unless you live in a super insulated modern house.

The floor needs to be super insulated too as although heat rises, the floor is a massive potential for heat loss.

IMO, get a combi fitted, you'll need hot water anyway, by all means fit underfloor heating but only as secondary heating.
Old 20-05-12, 09:25 AM   #3
Spank86

Underfloor heating will keep your feet warm if you have hard flooring. Might be easier to get carpets.
Old 20-05-12, 09:47 AM   #4
Fallout
Mega Poster