SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 30-08-07, 10:54 PM   #1
Ratty46

Default suspension set up

hey guys n girls

after posting about my tankslap and afetr reading all the advice i've decided to try and set up teh suspension for my weight, as most have recommneded.

at the moment teh front is on settting 3 an the rear is on 6 i beileve it should be on 4?

if it helps i weigh 9.5-10 stone and i'm 5.10.

any advice on what settings i should be on? i'm new to big bikes so help is very appreciated

PS- at work-no time to search!
Old 31-08-07, 02:50 PM   #2
jambo
Mega Poster

Default Re: suspension set up

Search for PReload or setting sag. It's far better to set this correctly for you then just to run numbers off, but IIRC the standard setting for the rear on an S is 4th setting available (counting up from the lowest setting available)
Old 31-08-07, 04:39 PM   #3
Captain Nemo

if the suspension seems too harsh you need to eat more kebabs, you weigh nowt lad..............

worked for me, , , ,kind of
Old 31-08-07, 06:10 PM   #4
Ratty46

had a little search around, think i'm slowly getting my head round it all!

6 1/2 stone....go on fella
Old 31-08-07, 07:24 PM   #5
Blue_SV650S

Quote:
Originally Posted by jambo View Post
Search for PReload or setting sag. It's far better to set this correctly for you then just to run numbers off, but IIRC the standard setting for the rear on an S is 4th setting available (counting up from the lowest setting available)
Indeed, this is the only true way to do it. But if you want ballpark at ~9st you will probably not be too far off with the default setting ...
Old 02-09-07, 09:56 PM   #6
Ratty46

cheers dude,much appreciated!
Old 02-09-07, 09:58 PM   #7
Richie
fantabulas
Mega Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Nemo View Post