SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 18-11-08, 11:07 AM   #1
Dappa D

Default Anyone swapped careers/professions in the past?

warning this is a bit of an essay...apologies

am curious to know if anyone has swapped careers and what the experience was like.

my reasons/story..

im 27
i earn less now than i did when i was 18-22

i work in sales (B2B selling on the phone, ive had enough of sales)

best future if i stay put is I get promised directorship in 2 years - at that point id get 18k basic (less than i earn now with bonuses) plus 33% of my papers total profit at the end of each year. pah! so if after a few yrs the paper that i set up was successful and say i made 200k profit...id only get 60k of it...feck that, i could realistically set up a company tomorrow to compete with who i work for now and keep all the profit. but im tired of sales and dont have the enthusiasm to do it, nor do i believe in what im selling

we own a flat at the moment - we want a house with garden for lil un. and i want a garage!

my mrs earns more than double what i do, although she does have 5 years on me but has now gone part time since arrival of our son ( and STILL earns more than me)..and i hate it...not in a sexist way but in a i want to provide for my family way.

so...

current economic climate suggests stay put for the time being...with all the job loses etc and my job is reletively secure...