SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 25-01-10, 07:00 PM   #1
rpwoodman

Default Architects costs

Does anyone know how much (a ballpark figure) an architect would charge to design a house, creating plans that a builder could use?
I'm assuming the materials used in said house would have no impact on the cost for the house design, assuming it was a fairly straight forward house?

thanks
Old 25-01-10, 07:09 PM   #2
Owenski

Default Re: Architects costs

Im a civil engineer mate, architects are ******s. Wht is it your wanting?
The architects are consultants and so if you go with an idea and then accept what ever they do for you it'll cost a lot less than if you go and ask them to amend what ever crap it is they end up drawing the first few times.

If it helps if you describe what it is your after I can knock up a couple of AutoCAD layouts no worries that will at least save you an initial back and forth expense ranging into the high hundreds. THen all you'll need it an architect to come and detail the materials for you.
Old 25-01-10, 07:21 PM   #3
rpwoodman

Wow - thanks very much for such an offer.
TBH, we're looking to move house and can't really find what we're looking for, and my wife suggested that I look into the possibility of buying some land and building something to our spec on it (I think the difficult part is actually finding some decent land that we'd be allowed to build on). We had absolutely no idea of cost for this sort of thing, or indeed, how things work.
If we decide to go further with the idea, I may well ask for your advice. Really appreciate the offer.
Old 25-01-10, 07:23 PM   #4
G
Mega Poster

Ou would be suprised how cheap an architect is at the moment... There's alot about with not slot to do and a house is easy.