SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum



Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-18, 11:55 AM   #1
Graveyard8516
Junior Member
 
Graveyard8516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 20
Default Idle adjust cable

Hi, Iím having issues with my idle adjust, on start up it idles normally but when warm is up to 2000rpm. Does anyone know why and does anyone have a picture of the correct routing of the cable. I recently removed the carbs and am not 100% sure of the routing.
TIA!
Jon


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Graveyard8516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-18, 12:32 PM   #2
Seeker
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: NE Lincs
Posts: 368
Default Re: Idle adjust cable

Not sure if this will help:

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/11...age=354#manual

Back in 2009 someone asked for pics of cable routing (at front end), they're photobucket pics but my browser opened them (Chrome 66).

http://forums.sv650.org/showthread.php?t=127568

I haven't owned a curvy in a number of years but a couple of questions:
1) you said: on start up it idles "normally" - if it's on choke it should be fast idling, is yours?
2) when warm - if you turn the bars, does the idle speed change?
3) does the throttle stop (idle speed control) have any effect?

If the throttle cable is binding I would expect the rpm to change as you turn the bars, otherwise it could be the choke cable binding. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chime in.
Seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-18, 12:42 PM   #3
Graveyard8516
Junior Member
 
Graveyard8516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 20
Default Re: Idle adjust cable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seeker View Post
Not sure if this will help:

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/11...age=354#manual

Back in 2009 someone asked for pics of cable routing (at front end), they're photobucket pics but my browser opened them (Chrome 66).

http://forums.sv650.org/showthread.php?t=127568

I haven't owned a curvy in a number of years but a couple of questions:
1) you said: on start up it idles "normally" - if it's on choke it should be fast idling, is yours?
2) when warm - if you turn the bars, does the idle speed change?
3) does the throttle stop (idle speed control) have any effect?

If the throttle cable is binding I would expect the rpm to change as you turn the bars, otherwise it could be the choke cable binding. I'm sure someone more knowledgeable will chime in.


Thanks, something to look at later.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Graveyard8516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-18, 08:45 AM   #4
R1ffR4ff
Member
 
R1ffR4ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: JAMOADR(1999 Naked Curvy)
Posts: 779
Default Re: Idle adjust cable

When you had the Carbs off did you check the Float heights were in spec?

Have you checked for Carb seals/Air-leaks?Use a bit of Carb Brake cleaner or WD40 sprayed around them and if the engine speed changes you have introduced a leak.Check that the seals in the Air-box have seated correctly onto the carbs.

Although this is one of my old CX500 pages some of the information is relevant for all CV carbs,

https://cx500.000webhostapp.com/CarbMain.html
__________________
"The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails."

Last edited by R1ffR4ff; 11-05-18 at 08:48 AM.
R1ffR4ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-18, 03:58 PM   #5
Graveyard8516
Junior Member
 
Graveyard8516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 20
Default Re: Idle adjust cable

Thanks, will have a look this weekend. I have reduced the air hole size in the filter as I had cut it right out and that has improved it albeit not completely. When I desnorkled it I cut the plastic on the filter right out to the inner oval rather than remove the tube.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Graveyard8516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-18, 09:15 AM   #6
R1ffR4ff
Member
 
R1ffR4ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: JAMOADR(1999 Naked Curvy)
Posts: 779
Default Re: Idle adjust cable

Had a look at my old page and it reminded me.I don't know if the Float needle valves on the SV650 work the same way but..

Note:There is a small very tiny spring loaded plunger in on top of the Float Needle Valves.This must operate correctly.Press it down with your finger and make sure it moves up and down easily.You can free it up if seized with a bit of WD40 unless it's totally kaput.They come in the correct carb/float kits for your model.

It would be worth knowing if they are constructed the same?
__________________
"The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails."
R1ffR4ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
idle cable at carb end forklift SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 11 24-05-09 08:09 PM
Idle Cable GSXR Carlos Bikes - Talk & Issues 0 16-04-08 10:13 AM
Idle adjust screw? jec444 SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 6 01-07-06 02:53 PM
Cant adjust the Idle nob TSM SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 7 29-04-05 04:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.