SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 19-05-08, 09:06 PM   #1
Davido

Default Accident at work

I dunno if this is the right section, but I'll ask anyway.

Basically, I work at a Ford dealership as an apprentice, will have been there five months at the end of this month.

Last week a technician came in to fix one of the ramps, and while i was stood near one he told me to press a button (I had no idea what this button did) and it raised the ramp legs up. Unfortunately, the door of the car on the ramp was open and the legs pinched the bottom of the door. probably needs a new door now.

My boss came out and laid the blame on me outright and said I will be paying for it. Seems a bit harsh, but then again i did press the button.

However, I'm an apprentice, and the fact that i was just following instructions and the technician was in charge of the ramp at the time makes me think I'm not 100% in the wrong.

They have insurance for this type of thing but won't claim due to a high excess, and basically want me to pay.

The tricky bit:

Now, I've been thinking about quitting for some time, but this situation could look very bad to any future employers if I decided to leave shortly after breaking someone's door.

The questions:

If I refused to pay, and was sacked, can they take it out of the wages I have earned this month? Can they take me to court for it? Would arguing my case help at all?

I think that's it, if anyone can shed any light it would be really helpful. Thanks.
Old 19-05-08, 09:27 PM   #2
Fearg

Default Re: Accident at work