SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 21-06-11, 10:15 PM   #1
Journeyman

Default Buying First SV650?

Hi,

I'm new to biking and am looking to get a second hand SV650 for my first proper bike (currently riding an NSR125 to get through my licence) so need some advice on the most common faults to watch out for when buying one. I've done a couple of searches on this forum already and through your obviously high knowledge base, (does flattery help here?!! ) seen that the reg/rec, wiring loom under the seat, and speedo are areas which I need to pay attention to; but having dealt with a myriad of faults on my NSR due to ridiculously negligent previous owner(s) I'm really keen to know as much as possible ahead of time as to what I need to watch out for - so that I don't get ripped off again.

I'm erring towards an early pointy, but could be converted to a curvy if they're less prone to (expensive) faults.

Thanks,
Old 21-06-11, 11:02 PM   #2
DJFridge

Default Re: Buying First SV650

Fair play new guy, my bike history is exactly the same!. NSR125R to learn on and now a nice 2002 curvy. Please tell me you aren't planning to do the Mod 1 on the NSR though. I'm sure you've noticed the turning circle is quite similar to that of a large tanker by now - the U turn and the slalom are just about possible on the NSR, but no fun at all.

Anyway, welcome to the nuthouse. I'm beginning to think they're all mad here, but most of them don't bite!

Ride safe and good luck with the tests
Old 22-06-11, 09:23 AM   #3
Chris Bird

My curvy had an issue with the front cylinder miss firing. Then a bigger one with road rash on the M4. Had a pointy SK6 since and it's been fine. Never had a problem with it.