SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 02-08-07, 09:56 PM   #1
catchsomesv650

Default SV650 noob question

Hi,

I'm new to riding motorcycles and I recently purchased an 01 SV650S. I'm not a particular fan of aftermarket parts and never did research on them. However, the owner who I bought the bike from had alot and no longer had the stock parts.

It includes:

520 kit
double bubble something
Yoshimura full exhaust
05 gixxer front end.

i dont know what any of these mean and was wondering if someone could shine some light on the matter.

thanks in advance
Old 02-08-07, 10:00 PM   #2
Tim in Belgium

Default Re: SV650 noob question

Gsxr front end should mean you have decent front suspension (from a GSXR bike) if set up right - a big plus.

Double bubble (type of screen) - pretty useful if you don't want your head to wobble off at speed, depending on the colour and your taste could be a plus or minus.

Yoshi exhaust (full system means the whole thing, not just the silencer on the end) - nice noise and some marginal power gains - a plus

520 kit -some chain thing, not sure if it's a plus or minus, sure someone will be along to help soon.

Hello and welcome to the site from up north.
Old 02-08-07, 10:03 PM   #3
catchsomesv650

just to tack on another noob question...
i've read everywhere about the 650's low end torque. i know that it various on a case by case basis, but around what range of RPM should I be in assuming just a flat road.

when pushing 5-6K, the engine's sound scares the bejezzies out of me

btw. thanks tim
Old 02-08-07, 10:13 PM   #4
ethariel

Thats the Yoahi full system

Crank it up higher then drop the throttle off and listen to it on the over run
ethariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-07, 10:13 PM   #5
Sideshow#36