SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 18-01-17, 10:47 AM   #1
Stilo

Smile Newbie/Custom Project

Hi

I am new to SV650s and the forum, I don't have a lot of experience of Suzukis, I had a GSX650F for a short spell last year & a 250 two stroke single that I raced back in the 80s but that is it.

I have a 93 Ducati 900SS that I did a "nut & bolt" rebuild on a few years ago which will stay with me but apart from that I like to buy 1 or 2 bikes a year that are damaged and/or in need of TLC as a project. I learn about the bike, fix them, use them & then usually move them on.

A lot of the bikes have been tourers or sports tourers, Ducati STs, Aprilia Futura, BMW 1100S, the GSX650F and a couple of Deauvilles (yes I know) etc.

These have generally been used to do a tour in Europe including a visit to a MotoGP & then I sold them when I got back.
I've now decided that my touring days are over, its easier, quicker and cheaper just to fly to a GP and with modern bikes increasingly getting taller and heavier I find them physically more difficult to handle, (I am a 63 year old, 11 stone short **** weakling) and they are packed with technology that I just do want or won't use.

I've always liked the simplicity and style of the Monster but I've had a few Ducati's so I did some research on a similar alternative. I wanted a bike that was of relatively simple design & easy to work on, not too tall or heavy, reliable, parts were easily and cheaply available and that could lend itself to a bit of customisation so I decided to get a SV650.

Ive bought a 2005 faired bike (Gen 2, pointy?) with front end damage, my intention is to turn it into a streetfighter/naked bike based on but not identical to the SV650 naked.