SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 25-01-20, 11:38 AM   #1
Thaleshwar

Default Flushing coolant system

Hi, As I am considering coolant change in my SV650S K6, I studied online resources (google, YouTube.. all usual), everywhere it’s said or mentioned to flush coolant system by ‘pouring’ the distilled water, except Haynes service manual that I have for my model and year that reads (Page 1.30) QUOTE: Flush the system with clean ‘tap water’ by inserting a garden hose in the radiator filler neck:UNQUOTE to me flushing with garden hose does make sense as it exerts some pressure instead of pouring, but dilemma is cleaning with tap water vs distilled water, personally I feel it should not do any or much harm, am I right in following Haynes manual which is well respected? Kindly comment
Thaleshwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-20, 11:48 AM   #2
DJ123
Mega Poster

Default Re: Flushing coolant system

IIRC the coolant system only holds a couple of litres, so even if you don't get all the tap water out it's not going to be a high volume that will cause issues later on.
You'll know how much is in there when you fill it all up and measure how much you have left in the jug of the total volume.

BMW F800ST
DJ123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-20, 04:16 PM   #3
R1ffR4ff
Mega Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaleshwar View Post