SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 13-05-07, 04:32 PM   #1
earthtodan

Default First bike - Looking at a 650S. Right bike for me? Decision possibly today.

Hello all,
I'm buying my first motorcycle and I found a 2003 copper SV650S, very good condition, for $3500. Still not sure if an SV is the right bike for me, so let me tell you about my style and what I want out of riding.

I do track days in my car (Honda Prelude), and I've been riding road bicycles for about 10 years. I'm a canyon carving fiend at heart. By getting into motorcycles I mean to combine the best of both worlds (engine power + two wheels). My riding friends (also supersport types) tell me an SV650 will be the perfect starter bike, and not to have any hesitation about it. Indeed, I love the engine, it has a nice manageable torquey feel that's quick enough to get away from traffic at mid-rpm but isn't likely to take off without me.

Anyway, I don't need to tell a 650 board what's right with the bike. Here are my fears.

I'm afraid it won't be sporty enough. I'm not the type who prefers a "softer" feel for long rides - I'd rather just deal with some discomfort and keep all the handling edge I can get for when I reach the twisties. I'm used to road bicycles, with a bent-over riding position, so even "aggressive" motorcycles feel upright and comfortable to me. Handling is simply priority number 1, and all others get to compete for second place. Will the SV650S get frustrating after a while?