SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 30-04-06, 02:02 AM   #1
blok2400

Default Buying a SV650

Hey guys im new to this fourm. Just thought I would ask a few questions first. Im 20 and I have never owned a bike before but when I saw the 650 I really liked it. So I went to the dealer and was offerd a very reasonable no money down rate and nearly walked out with the bike. I have decided though since I do not have my license yet I should wait a few weeks. It's still up in the air but im very close to going through with it.
Is there anything I should know about these bikes before I purchase it?. It is the naked verison. I hear they are confortable and they seem to be. Just looking for some info.
Old 30-04-06, 07:15 AM   #2
TC3

Why not get your licence first and then test ride one as that is far better than relying on what others think of the bike. Actually test ride a few different bikes to make sure you get what you want.
Old 30-04-06, 08:41 AM   #3
kwak zzr

the sv is a great bike! but then you are on an sv site so most people will say the same but saying that EVERYONE rates the sv! evan all the bike mags.
welcome to the site blok2400
Old 30-04-06, 09:47 AM   #4
Toypop

I wouldnt get a bike until you have passed the test. Having a bike at home and knowing that if you pass you can go home and ride it would just put more pressure on you when you do your test.

Isn't it better waiting til your next birthday and doing the direct access so you don't have to ride it restricted for a couple of years?

Once you have passed definitely try a few bikes. You may not like the way the v-twin sounds or its power delivery compared to a four cylinder.
Old 30-04-06, 10:41 AM   #5
jenni

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC3