SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 17-01-08, 01:50 PM   #1
Paul the 6th
Mega Poster

Default Mig Welding in West Yorkshire

I've been considering buying a mig welder for a little while now. I've not got a background in engineering or anything along those lines, but the consensus seems to be "with little training, beginners & amatuers can create high quality welding in little time" or words to that effect. Only problem is I don't know anyone who welds or has a mig welder

does anyone have any advice for buying an entry level mig welder? would it be worth considering a short course somewhere? or would someone be kind enough to maybe lend me an hour of their time & expertise if they live nearby? I'm a graphic designer & signwriter so if you ever need any graphics for your bike/helmet/etc I could pay you back in trade I'm rambling now...

I do know that I need something powerful enough to work on 3-5mm mild steel - the kind used for amatuer projects, trailers & kit cars etc...

to start with I'm planning on practising ALOT, making small work tables/trolleys and bits. Then eventually when I think my skills are up to it, I'm gonna have a bash at building a basic off road buggy using a 100-150cc engine (based on this book - which I've had for a while but not really bothered with).

Then I've got dreams of working my way up and one day building a locost 7 or something like that.

All advice/comments etc welcome thanks in advance

Cbf600, sv650, sv1000, gsxr 750 srad, KTM adventure 950, gsxr 750 k1, gsxr 750 srad, fazer 1000, zx9r ninja..
Paul the 6th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-08, 02:07 PM   #2
Ceri JC

Default Re: Mig Welding in West Yorkshire