SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 19-08-06, 06:34 PM   #1
grecian9

Default baptism of fire

So things haven't gone that well today. First off came the £560 bill to get through the MOT...I left the garage thinking, oh well, at least I can ride my bike at last. Coming out of the garage the bike felt a bit rough and then the petrol light came on so I pull into the Total garage to fuel up ready to blast around Leeds all day. Get back to my bike and it barely turns over and won't start. I try a few more times but it just gets worse. I'm about a mile from the garage and half a mile from home. I decide to start pushing home and then realise how hard work it is to push a bike uphill in the rain. I ring the garage to see if he can come and charge me up but he says no. He tells me to bump start it. Being a newbie I'm sceptical but as pushing is such hard work I find a quieter side street to have a go. I have about 9 goes but no luck. I then move to a slightly steeper decline side street and have another 10 or so goes and finally crack it. I'm now sweating like I've done 2 marathons back to back and wheezing like the asthmatic that I am. I don't think I was going fast enough for the first 18 tries but at least I know how to bump start now! So anyway, at least I'm now in business and I do about 2 hrs of riding in light rain without any problems.