SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum



SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-08-19, 10:27 PM   #11
Bibio
Member
Mega Poster
 
Bibio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dreich Fife (its grey and miserable)
Posts: 11,065
Default Re: Speedo showing random numbers. Speed sensor seems in one piece?

if its a curvy then its 4 pulses. the "rotor" can be ok but the "housing" fubar. this usually happens after a recent tyre change.

no a k5 can be a PITA. you must count the pulses or check your bikes "proper" year of manufacture. usual way to sort of tell is if the clock rev counter is white its 8 pulse if its black then its 4 pulse.
Bibio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-19, 08:04 AM   #12
Barney626
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default Re: Speedo showing random numbers. Speed sensor seems in one piece?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bibio View Post
if its a curvy then its 4 pulses. the "rotor" can be ok but the "housing" fubar. this usually happens after a recent tyre change.

no a k5 can be a PITA. you must count the pulses or check your bikes "proper" year of manufacture. usual way to sort of tell is if the clock rev counter is white its 8 pulse if its black then its 4 pulse.
I'll have a go at counting today, mine has black clocks but after fiddling with it I feel like it has 8 pulses.

Surely the thing that determines the number of pulses is the rotor? Can they not just be switched out as the sensor has a single pickup?
Barney626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-19, 05:27 PM   #13
Barney626
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default Re: Speedo showing random numbers. Speed sensor seems in one piece?

Speedo sensor arrived today. Put the new one in and instantly solved the issue.

Must have been damaged wiring in the pickup sensor

Oh well, problem solved
Barney626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-19, 06:07 PM   #14
Seeker
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: NE Lincs
Posts: 416
Default Re: Speedo showing random numbers. Speed sensor seems in one piece?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barney626 View Post
Speedo sensor arrived today. Put the new one in and instantly solved the issue.

Must have been damaged wiring in the pickup sensor

Oh well, problem solved

Great news!
Seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedo reading random numbers TCochrane SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 5 22-05-13 03:57 PM
Pointy cutting out and speedo random numbers. Elliott SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 6 10-10-12 03:53 PM
SV650S-K3 Speedo failed (random numbers) - Rotor seems OK, speedo drive problem? Tallguy SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 4 25-05-12 12:38 PM
Pointy speedo random numbers? Badeye Bikes - Talk & Issues 19 17-03-12 08:15 PM
Speedo accuracy. If your '99 650 is showing 37mph on the speedo. lloyd_christmas SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 14 12-06-08 12:02 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.