SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 30-01-11, 03:55 PM   #1
LucyR

Default Help? Non starter SV.

A red oil light is now permanently on display (pointy K5s) and the wheels have locked up and the engine won't start. I'm very new to biking and alone at home.

This happened just as I was trying to put it away but as it is stuck in a narrow doorway I can't get it on the stand and have had to lean it against a wall with my coat!

It also means the bike shed is open to the world. I can't seem to find out what's wrong. All the oil levels are fine. Help will be on hand I hope in about 1.5hrs but if anyone knows what I can try in the meantime, much appreciated!!!!!???
Old 30-01-11, 04:05 PM   #2
mcgrimes

Default Re: Help??

Most likely not the issue, but worth considering; you havnt left it in gear have you?
Old 30-01-11, 04:05 PM   #3
phi-dan

Does the neutral light come on? If not you may have knocked it into gear which will make it hard to push. Re. starting - check the kill switch?

Just a few of the things I have heard of other people doing / done too many times myself (delete as appropriate)
Old 30-01-11, 04:08 PM   #4
LucyR

checked the kill switch already (as yes I have done that before)... will go and double check the gears. It's a tight bricked doorway and I have to watch the fairings and the exhaust and reverse it in..... so it's highly likely!
Old 30-01-11, 04:15 PM   #5
Specialone

Check the obvious stuff as said, I was gonna ask about the oil cos from the first statement I suspected a seized engine, I hope it's not.
Old 30-01-11, 04:21 PM   #6
LucyR

ok, quite embarrassed but you live and learn, it was in gear. D'oh! The oil light threw me, that's what it was.....