SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 02-08-06, 11:38 AM   #1
hoppy34

Default Front Paddock Stand

Hi all, I am new to biking only passed my DAS 3 weeks ago. Have new SV650S now in red. Very happy!

The front right fork on my Suzuki has a screw going from the front to rear at the very bottom of the fork.

This is causing the front paddock stand to sit slightly askew (propped up on right side by screw).

Does anyone know if your supposed to removed the screw when using a paddock stand? or best to leave it well alone?

The font paddock stand is of the type with a half inch pointer on the end which goes up the inside at the bottom of the forks????????

Any info much appreciated! Dont want bike to topple over!

thanks

Dave
Old 02-08-06, 12:02 PM   #2
Biker Biggles
Mega Poster

That screw is the pinch bolt which grabs the spindle as it passes through the fork,and I can't see any reason why you should'nt remove it to make the bike sit better on the stand.Don't forget to put it back in though!
Old 02-08-06, 12:05 PM   #3
jambo
Mega Poster

Agreed, it's just to stop the front wheel spindle working loose, pop it off and back in again when you're done if it's causing you greif.
Old 02-08-06, 03:43 PM   #4
hoppy34

Default thanks

thanks for that!

Yes it will sit much better without that 'pinch bolt' have to remember to put it back though!

thanks again,
dave
Old 03-08-06, 02:14 PM   #5
BILLY

Be carefull with that type of stand there not very stable and I had my bike fall off one so to be safe put a jack under your engine for extra support!!!!!!!!
Old 03-08-06, 02:35 PM   #6
Viney
Mega Poster