SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 07-09-06, 07:57 AM   #1
andyb

Default Question for IAM members....or those in the know!

I have been riding for just over one year and would like to do the Skill for Life package but I'm not sure whether I have enough experience.

My instructor on my DAS course said I was v good and learnt v quickly but I wouldnt say I'm great or anything remotely close to it.

So, should I get more experience or should I be OK to do it?

Cheers,
Andy
Old 07-09-06, 08:06 AM   #2
Kilted Ginger

I only started riding 12 weeks ago and have now done 6 weeks at IAM, observers said it was good as I didnt have any bad habbits yet. I went as i want to ride as competently as I can so that I enjoy my riding and get home safely. I've found it to be very helpful and feel its improved my understanding of riding and awareness of the associated dangers no end, hopefully my riding has also improved, I'm definately a lot faster than I was and have a lot more confidence. I would recommend it to anyone,
To sum up I dont think there is a best time to do it as it should be beneficial to everybody, Go for it, Go along to a meet and if you dont like it then you dont have to join or go back.
Hope it works out for you as well as it has for me.
Old 07-09-06, 08:48 AM   #3
Nutter

I think it would be an ideal time to do it. Rather than spending a long time picking up bad habits, getting set in your ways and so on, do it while you're still fairly fresh to riding. I think a year riding will have been plenty enough to get used to riding.

I can thoroughly recommend it. You don't have to be great before you start - that's the point of the training, to make you better. I enjoy riding much more since doing it.
Old 07-09-06, 09:22 AM   #4
SoulKiss
Mega Poster

On a related matter.