SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Racing and Paddock Chat The latest news, talk, and gossip from the world of bike racing, you can also discuss track days here too.

Old 30-05-11, 10:12 PM   #1
swifter

Default Track bike

Hi all,

im looking at getting into track days and have a small track close to home which offers very occasional track days.
Ive considered zx6rs and gsxrs for around £1000 to £1500 but really want to do this on a budget as its only for a bit of fun and to scratch an itch initially.
I can pick up a SV650 for around £800-£850. T reg 99 with around 22k miles and service history - road bike.
How well would the sv adapt to the track with maybe just some decent tyres, some stiffer springs/fork oil, and maybe a gsxr rear shock?
As said its not going be for any real serious use as off yet - im a total trackday novice so intend to do one or 2 trackdays this summer, then make the bike more track focused over the winter and maybe go further afield with a trailer next year. Initially im just going to be riding to this local track so the bike has to be road legal to begin with.
Is it worth doing this or am i better going for a gsxr/zx6r? Quite fancy the idea of the sv as a fairly 'tame' starter track bike. My road bikes a k7 750 but dont want to risk it on track so just want some cheap cheerful fun.
Old 30-05-11, 11:44 PM   #2
jambo
Mega Poster

Default Re: Track bike

You'd be in good company. Monkey & Davies have just started work on a similar project, and I'm working with another orger on a pair of track SVs from very cheap curvy bikes that had been laid up for a few years.

Depends what you want out of it, if you want a cheap, capable bike to enjoy yourself on then it's a good choice. If you're going to be upset when gsxrs out-squirt you down the straight, then consider buying a cheap 600.

Jambo
Old 31-05-11, 02:02 PM   #3
flymo
Mega Poster