SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 25-05-19, 08:29 AM   #1
Seeker
Mega Poster

Default UK customer service

Perhaps this should be in "gripe of the day".

I am toying with the idea of fitting fork cartridges to my AL7 and I try to buy British when available. The only cartridges I have found so far are Ohlins and K-tech. I wrote to K-Tech since they seem to be a UK company and asked them if they have anything for my SV and they said:

"Currently we do not have a listing for this fitment. I am pretty sure we could make our 20IDS or 25IDS to fit these forks we just need a pair of forks to measure."

I'm a hopeless salesman but in this situation I would have said:
"We don't know where you live but if you're willing to allow us to measure your bike, we're prepared to offer a discount and free fitting".

They didn't ask so I didn't offer and I'll buy Ohlins if I go ahead. If I make an inquiry it means I have some interest in a product which is a potential sale. Maybe they don't need the business, maybe they are just bad at selling but I find this lackadaisical attitude frustrating.
Seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-19, 01:26 PM   #2
Othen

Default UK customer service

I’m not entirely sure I understand what the company might have done wrong here. Have you already been offered a discount by Ohlins and so expected the same from the UK company? If not then it seems that the company has responded fairly, so I’m not really sure why you would have expected a discount.

Have I missed something?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Old 25-05-19, 01:34 PM   #3
SV650rules
Mega Poster

Default Re: UK customer service

Being as the SV is such a popular bike for suspension upgrades I am surprised K-Tech hadn't already done work on this, maybe they don't need the work ! Maybe you got the apprentice.