SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 04-06-14, 07:37 PM   #1
ZER0

Default How do I adjust the chain?

Hi peeps.

I need to adjust my chain as it's a bit loose. Got a fair bit of slack in the middle of the chain, but if you try and pull it off the rear sprocket it doesn't move.

This seems like a simple job. But, as I'm a complete newbie, I didn't want to get half way through, or start undoing important things like wheels, and find out I should be doing something more/different.

Is it just a case of loosen the two big nuts either side of the swing arm, then turn the two smaller ones at the rear equal amounts (I'm guessing half a turn at a time while alternating sides should do it?) then when the chain seems right, just do the two big ones back up?

I've just searched 'chain' and could be there years looking for what I need!

A simple question really, but I don't want to get it wrong.

Thanks in advance, you're all amazing
Old 04-06-14, 07:58 PM   #2
Biker Biggles
Mega Poster

Default Re: Newbie Chain Question

There needs to be 3cm of vertical movement in the middle of the lower run of the chain,so dont adjust it to less than that.
As for doing the job it depends on the bike model,but essentially you need to lossen off the rear wheel spindle nut and adjust the two bolts on the end of the swingarm.Both the same as you said,but you will only need a very small amount of turn,like about a quarter or less.On a curvy you need to slack off the caliper tie rod as well.
Old 04-06-14, 09:06 PM   #3
Red Herring
Mega Poster

Default Re: Newbie Chain Question

Pretty much as you say however just a few tips.