SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 12-12-11, 09:19 AM   #1
missyburd

Default How many of you...

... are making use (in your current career choice) of a major degree/qualification you have gained and spent much time, effort and money working for?

Just out of interest.
Old 12-12-11, 09:30 AM   #2
-Ralph-

Default Re: How many of you...

Hardly at all, stuff learned since and experience in the job is key to me doing my job today, but I wouldn't have got started on and progressed through my career path without it on my CV.
Old 12-12-11, 09:32 AM   #3
timwilky
Mega Poster

BSc Mechanical Engineering, stopped working in the profession 4 years after I graduated. I am a IT Project manager who can also develop applications, manage distributed and complex architectures and provides a firefighting and consultancy role for an engineering multinational. Could I do my job without my degree? Certainly. Does it help that at times I can speak the same "language" as my customers? Most definitely and I have been given projects that would have to be outsourced because I can work in the crossover area between complex engineering and software development.
Old 12-12-11, 09:49 AM   #4
Littlepeahead
Mega Poster

In my first proper job, for an independent record label, the guy who employed me said it was my determination, cheek and charm that got me the position, not my CV. Good thing, as I failed my music CSE spectacularly.

I'm now filming and photography manager for a major sports venue, also doing PR. I was rubbish at all sport at school, and have never had any professional photography or PR training. I've blagged it all the way.