SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 07-09-06, 02:42 PM   #1
Reh

Default Failed MOT, NewB, brakes problems!

Hello all

Firstly like to say that this Forum seems to be a haven for all SV owners, I've already become familiar with a few people names! (Hey Northwind!). I'd like to apologise if this has been asked before - I promise, I read for 5 hours, and then decided to post.

I'm a newbie - Passed my Direct Access around this time last year, soon after bought a Curvy in Yellow (nice) , bought a lid, leathers, the works then got on the road...

Problem - I haven't ridden much since my mates all live accross county, so I've put 500 miles on it in a year (PAYG insurance).

Failed its MOT, at the dealers (Powersport Bikes in Bradford (near Leeds), west yorks). They Said:

Stand is Loose
Front brakes are binding
Front pads need replacing
Exhaust (aftermarket can) is TOO loud
Rear brake hose is too close to the exhaust (hence dangerous!??)

to fix all of the above, they said... £260 odd quids!!!

Seemed a little steep to me. Been reading the forum (registered today) since 8am this morning. My background with mechanics - I'm failry competent, got a decent ratchet set and other tools, and got myself a Haynes manual - got a garage too.

Yesterday myself, and a slightly more mechanicaly minded friend changed the exhaust to the stock/standard one. Went ok, bar the fact that he didn't spot the two nuts on the back part of the exhaust (infront of the shocker). Also managed to tighten the loose stand, which now leaves.... err the brakes (HELP!!!).

Problem - I really and desperately need to sort the front brakes out. Come to think of it the front are binding, since when I push the bike, it seems like it weighs a few tonne!!