SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 15-08-09, 09:54 AM   #1
kellyjo

Default Novice track sessions

Ive only been riding a couple of months but my mind keeps wandering to thoughts of doing a track session and i know that you are the guys to ask. Obviously i'm a novice - i've never been above 90mph (cos i'm yellow )and still a bit slow around the bends, but everyone keeps telling me that it would improve my riding skills and give me more confidence to find out what both the bike and i are capable of.
So i was wondering, can anyone recommend a good novice circuit/session/event where i wont feel completely overwhelmed and also where some training could be given first. I often look at the days you guys are having but feel they would probably be well out of my league, after all, theres novice and theres my kinda novice
Thank-yoooo!!!
Old 15-08-09, 10:00 AM   #2
Rob969

Default Re: Novice track sessions

MSV have a novice only day start of september at Snetterton. i did one not long ago there after only riding for a few months and thought it was great fun, I was nervous as hell when i got there but once out on track felt fine, you'll be surprised how well your SV holds it own against 'quicker' bikes. even thinking about doing it again myself and dragging along a few track day virgins from work
Old 15-08-09, 04:55 PM   #3
Specialone

I would be worried about binning the bike on a trackday, thats what would put me off.
Or...do you not get even close to the limit of the sv for that to be a problem?
Old 15-08-09, 04:56 PM   #4
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

There is no obligation to ride absolutely balls out and fall off.
Old 15-08-09, 05:08 PM   #5
Specialone

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkie_chris View Post
There is no obligation to ride absolutely balls out and fall off.
Wouldnt you look a bit boring and out of place?