SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 12-04-12, 07:13 PM   #1
KMB

Default Complete noob with a dead 2004 SV650S

Hey all,

First off, apologies in advance for the long post. I'm trying to give as much detail as possible to have the best chance of solving this.

In August 2011 (just after I passed my test) I bought an SV650S from my local dealer. It had nearly 17,000 miles on the clock and a 33bhp restriction fitted, and went through a "full service" and was MOT'd the day before delivery.

Without boring you with all the details as to why, the only times I got to actually ride the bike in the few days after it was delivered was when it was dropped off (I rode it about 30 meters into the garage) and about 5 miles down the road when I thought I was insured (avoid MCE at all costs.) Both of these times the bike started first time, sounded a bit hesitant and weak when it idled, but pulled away without any issues and revved smoothly. I noticed that it would stall very easily whenever I dropped the revs but this seemed to improve a bit when the bike was warm. After my 5 mile ride the bike felt nice and warm and was revving well, but when I pulled back into my driveway and slowed down to a stop the bike stalled again.

I had to leave the bike in the garage as I had to move away for university for the next 12 weeks. During those 12 weeks the bike was started a couple of times and left to idle for a few minutes. When I came back it was icy and there was snow everywhere so I could only start the bike up and move it forward and backwards in the garage, but I noticed it still stalled almost all the time when it was moved and the revs dropped.