SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 19-07-07, 03:02 PM   #1
zunkus

Default A graphical designer can only find work in Cities?

As most of you now I live in Malta. Nice weather we got here most of the year but no real roads for me to enjoy and the salary is a third of what you get over there. The cost of living is on par in most things with yours though, so not much money is left in my pocket. I was thinking of starting over in Wales or a nice English/Scotish town. I hate the cities though, no offence to all here who live there. They're ok but not for me.

So my question is this: Would I find work as a graphic designer in a small town? I've got 20 years experience in the business and worked and still working for top local companies. My clients include Vodafone, Ford, Mazda, Meridien hotels, Pampers, Pantene, Alitalia, Yamaha and loads of other top Maltese brands and businesses. Do I stand a chance there?
Old 19-07-07, 03:07 PM   #2
Warthog

Default Re: A graphical designer can only find work in Cities?

Could you apply to a few places first and then move here upon success in an application?
Old 19-07-07, 03:10 PM   #3
Ceri JC

Surely there must be a lot of scope for "work at home" and sumbitting material online these days? IE you can live where you like? A mate works as a web designer and he lives in both Chile and the UK and his clients are never aware of where he physically is.
Old 19-07-07, 03:48 PM   #4
gettin2dizzy

on a De-rail note - You got any work you could show us?
Old 19-07-07, 03:49 PM   #5
ASM-Forever

I have a mate who works in graphic design and he lives near me in the relative countryside(village called Cookham).

I would agree with Ceri...work from home
Old 19-07-07, 05:55 PM   #6
LouLou