SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 27-04-19, 08:19 PM   #1
quinnj3

Default Gladius Comfort

Hi,

I’m new here although I’ve owned my bike now for several months I’ve only just got it road legal (MOT, tax & insurance) so this last week I’ve been brushing up on my riding skills at any opportunity. I only just passed my test in August 2018 so I’ve been taking it easy to get used to biking.

This bike (Gladius SFV650 AL2 unrestricted) is very much a stepping stone for me to gain skills as it’s what I learned on with my instructor.

Anyway I don’t know if it’s because I’m new to this or if it’s the bike. I went for a one hundred mile trip with a friend with a stop for coffee and a bun at the 60 mile point. At the 40 mile point I was getting fairly uncomfortable, at the stop I was properly uncomfortable. Mostly my **** was numb. After the end of the trip my shoulders and neck joined my **** in being uncomfortable but I suspect that’s due to new rider syndrome and riding a naked bike.

Is there anything that can be done to improve the comfort of the seat without buying something extortionate like a Corbin? Or will I likely ‘harden’ to it?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
quinnj3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-19, 08:35 PM   #2
Craig380
Mega Poster

Default Re: Gladius Comfort

Hi and welcome. You will get used to shoulder/neck ache, your muscles in that area do get used to the windblast and strengthen.

As far as the seat goes, give it a little time and see if your **** is still going into a coma. If yes, you could try gel cycling shorts under your riding gear and see if that helps. They're about 15 quid a pair so not expensive.

The Gladius seat is similar to the current Gen 3 SVs, some people hate the seat on that, others don't mind it.
Craig380 is offline   Reply With Quote