SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 29-03-10, 09:35 PM   #1
Mej
Mega Poster

Default Anyone clued up on Economics?

Doing an assignment on it at the moment and it is doing my head in as i cant get to grips with it.

to give you an idea of what type im studying, this is the first question.

Compare and contrast typical real estate markets with the economist’s conception of a perfect market.

its a long shot but the org is always pretty helpful.

Mej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-10, 10:33 PM   #2
keith_d
Mega Poster

Default Re: Anyone clued up on Economics?

I'm not an economics geek, but that sounds like a reasonable question, depending on how many words they're expecting.

1) Start with the definition of a perfect market
2) Analyse how each of the attributes of a perfect market applies to the property market
3) Wrap up with a couple of paragraphs highlighting the deficiencies in the property market, with particular reference to assymmetric information, location dividing it into numerous smaller markets with limited competition, and the actions of estate agents acting as market makers.

Hopefully a real economist will come along with some better suggestions.

Keith.
keith_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-10, 10:37 PM   #3
Mej
Mega Poster

thats one of the questions, there are four in total, economics is definetly not my one of my better subjects.

im looking at about a 1000 words for this one.

cheers keith im drained today so ill have another crack 2morrow night, had to take an extension, so its due in on on the 6th now.

Mej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-10, 11:03 PM   #4
sauluk