SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 22-01-12, 12:49 PM   #1
musne

Default Inlet Blade & Throttle Stop restriction - can I remove it myself?

*inlet blade* Title typo

Hi all, here I am once again shamefully asking for advice and guidance from the org.

My K6 has an inlet blade & throttle stop 33bhp restrictor fitted. One garage quoted £80 - 120 to remove and another quoted £120.

I really don't want to pay them that much to remove it, I would be happier doing it myself - but I'm not a pro at all!

Or I would even pay someone to come and take it off for me if they feel confident in doing so!

So basically, I would like a step by step guide on removing it myself, or I would pay someone to come and do it

Last edited by musne; 22-01-12 at 12:52 PM. Reason: typo
Old 22-01-12, 04:59 PM   #2
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

Default Re: Inlet Blad & Throttle Stop restriction - can I remove it myself?

It's doable yourself.

Where are you based?
Old 22-01-12, 06:04 PM   #3
musne

That's excellent to hear, the garage I spoke to gave me some crap about how complex it is and it would take around 3 hours labour! :\

Location - Kent, Gillingham! ME8
Old 22-01-12, 06:31 PM   #4
rictus01
Mega Poster

yeah easy enough to do, although you have to strip the tank back and airbox off, can be a little tricky if the throttle stop is on the body end, but take your time and you shouldn't have a problem.

You're not a friend of Craig's by any chance ? was down in Gillingham yesterday myself.

Cheers Mark.
Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, 'Wow! What a Ride!
rictus01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-12, 06:40 PM   #5
musne