SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 07-04-18, 09:27 AM   #1
darrentwins

Default gladius problem

hello, I am new to bikes in the sense i have had my first bike for a year (gladius 09) and know very little about them. I'm having a problem, there is no power to ignition. Battery is good and all fuses are ok...and that's about my limit..I need help in what to check next and how to check....Like i say I'm new to this so please be patient with my lack of knowledge and any help would be very much appreciated..
Old 07-04-18, 10:28 AM   #2
maviczap
Mega Poster

Default Re: gladius problem

Check the connection to the ignition which is probably under the tank.

By good battery, how do you know this?
maviczap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-18, 12:28 PM   #3
SV650rules
Mega Poster

If it is original battery it may well not be OK - when you say no power to ignition do you mean it turns over but will not start because no spark, or does not turn over - does the headlight come on when key is in 'on' position ?

Try the kill switch ( I never use it because when I did on a couple of bikes it gave problems and needed a bit of fiddling (taking apart and fixing) to get it to complete the circuit again, I just turn the key off now to stop engine ).

There are a few switches in the ignition circuit, ( one on the clutch lever - maybe only on L7) and one on the prop stand as well as the kill switch by throttle grip.

try this wiring diagram for SFV..

http://www.classiccycles.org/media//...a0ffffe415.pdf

Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain

Last edited by SV650rules; 07-04-18 at 12:47 PM.
SV650rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-18, 01:06 PM   #4
darrentwins

Hi and Thanks
I know it's a good battery because it's just new and has full charge.