SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Pennine Massive For those readers based up north.

Old 03-05-07, 07:51 AM   #1
melody

Smile Yes, another new member

Hey guys

I didn't really introduce myself in my previous post. Kinda stumbled across this site. I passed my test last august so I'm still pretty new to riding. I hardly ever exceed speed limits and my cornering (especially left turns) is atrocious!! So I'm really looking forward to joining you all and hopefully boost my confidence.

Are there many female members here? ( no offence to the blokes), would be nice to have a mix. I've not really been out on my bike much since I got it. Had a bit of a blipp a week after I picked it up. Was riding through Headingley in Leeds (student area) on a Saturday evening. Stopped at some traffic lights, opposite a pub. A group of blokes were crossing the road and realised it was a woman on the bike and started jeering and taunting me. A couple of them were dancing around me knocking on my helmet and another jumped on the back, put his arms around me and started bouncing up and down on the seat!! I was absolutely petrified and nearly dropped the bike ( I took my test on a 125 so the difference in weight was phenomenal).

I was a total mess after that and couldn't bring myself to ride for months, but now that the sun's out I want to enjoy my bike again. I worked too hard to let some prize idiots spoil it for me.

So when are you lovely folk meeting next. I'm itching to join in.

Melody
Old 03-05-07, 08:46 AM   #2
GSXR Carlos

Default Re: Yes, another new member

Get some carbon knuckles on your gloves, then punch then and see if they try it again.

Shame there are some pratts about. don't let anything stop you riding
Old 03-05-07, 08:48 AM   #3
pmapp
Mega Poster

Couple fo us might be out and about on Sunday - nothings organised yet though.

3 of us met up last night and came through Castleford on the way back from Squires.