SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 28-11-09, 07:56 PM   #1
thulfi

Default Please read - Your help needed for my project

Hey orgers...

I would greatly appreciate it if you could all take the time just to read this, and reply with your own experiences.

I'm a medical student at Kings in London, and I have a self designed assignment based on ambulance motorcycles. I am essentially looking at the 'safety' of them, ie, the number of paramedics that have crashed on their way to a call, the nature of their injuires sustained, the most common areas of crashes, and the times during the day in which this happens most.

I managed to visit the London Ambulance control centre the other day which was very fascinating...one large room, responsible for almost all the 999 ambulance calls within the M25.

Anyway, a small part of the assignment will be comparing their accident figures with that of normal bikers. Obviously there are external factors at work here, such as the paramedics riding skill and their advanced training, the fact they'll be going faster in response to a call, the fact they have sirens, etc and the fact that I'm looking at the London ambulance service.

There is already plenty of data out there for biker accidents (which I shall also be using), but hopefully I can gather enough information here to contribute to my assignment on my own finding for biker accidents in comparison to the data I collect for paramedic bikers.

So if you wont mind just answering these questions, I would greatly appreciate it.

1. How long you have been riding for (not including months or yrs out)
2. How many hours you ride in a week/month (rough estimates only)