SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 19-09-07, 07:51 PM   #1
DarrenSV650S
Mega Poster

Default Motorcycle mechanic Apprenticeship

Has anyone done a motorcycle mechanic apprenticeship? I'm doing an electrical apprenticeship just now in my final year. But I don't really think its for me. I'd quite like a job to do with bikes and this seems perfect as I'll also learn about bike engines.
I'm not sure if I am too old though (21). But it could be an advantage in the employers eyes because I have had plenty of experience in a working environment and I'm not straight out of school.
Just looking for some info from people who have done this or who are mechanics. Do you think there is any chance of getting a job?
DarrenSV650S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-07, 08:58 PM   #2
Wideboy
Evel Knievel
Mega Poster

Default Re: Motorcycle mechanic Apprenticeship

do they do motorcycle apprenticeships separate to cars? as for being to old one of the blokes i work with started his a 23, it justs costs more to put you through college etc i think

05 DRZ400E
RIP hovis
Wideboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-07, 09:07 PM   #3
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

Do you really need an apprenticeship to do the work?
Old 19-09-07, 09:12 PM   #4
rictus01
Mega Poster

not sure about the benefits of what I consider "to much" academic stuff, but formal work practises are worh their weight in gold, you can alway tell those who have been properly trained in the way they work.

Good luck with this, hope it works out for you.

Cheers Mark.
Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, 'Wow! What a Ride!
rictus01 is offline   Reply With Quote