SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 23-11-06, 01:21 PM   #1
krhall

Default Know your limits! I'm not too sure that I do!

As I have mentioned in previous postings, I am new to biking (less than a month) and due to the recent weather I am struggling to get used to the daily commute on my SV. Especially as I don't really know the bikes limits or the limits of my ability.

I regularly have to move out of the way for bikes maintaining much more speed whilst filtering through the traffic on the A2 between Dartford and Greenwich and vice versa. I have to admit that the night time is much worse.

This leads me to ask if there are any SV riders, who also do some/all of this route and wouldn't mind me following them and picking up some riding tips etc, so that I can get a better idea of where the limits on my bike are and possibly my own limits.

I normally get on at the Dartford Heath or Black Prince turn off on the A2 between 0730 and 0745, my return journey starts at Sun in th Sands roundabout at about 1700 - 1715. I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks,
Kev
Old 23-11-06, 01:28 PM   #2
Baph

Sounds like a good plan to me!

Welcome to the madhouse btw!

Just take things steady & you should be fine (I live no-where near the A2, otherwise I'd be up for it). I've only been riding a few short months myself, but still.
Old 23-11-06, 01:29 PM   #3
thor

Don't worry about keeping up. There will always be someone quicker. Just take it steady and at your own pace. Confidence and skill will come with time.
Old 23-11-06, 01:32 PM   #4
skidmarx

IAM 4u asap
Old 23-11-06, 01:33 PM   #5
thor

You could do a bikesafe course. It's a one day thing, would probably be useful for you.
Old 23-11-06, 01:35 PM   #6
on yer bike