SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum



SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-02-17, 08:58 AM   #11
Blapper
Member
 
Blapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rochester,Kent.
Posts: 806
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Quote:
Originally Posted by johna6968 View Post
Thanks for the replies.. Had a quick peep at the throttle body and throttle tube situation. Seems the throttle tube is hitting its housing stop before the throttle body is fully open. I can move the throttle bodies that bit further manually once the throttle tube hits full. There are no additional parts within the two halves of the throttle tube housing to restrict movement, just the step in the housing itself.
Sounds like the cables could be out of adjustment to me.
Blapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-17, 09:07 AM   #12
johna6968
Junior Member
 
johna6968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 19
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blapper View Post
Sounds like the cables could be out of adjustment to me.
Throttle cable free play is set about right, that did cross my mind tho. I would imagine with a bit of fettling of the throttle tube all should be well.. Cheers John
__________________
Its better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it..

gt50 ybr125x2 gn125 er500 kle500 600monster cbr600f yzf600r gsf600n gsr600 fzs600 600foxeyex2 xj6s fz6sx2 kle650 sv650s gsxr750 gsf1200s
johna6968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-17, 12:11 PM   #13
Corny Gizmo
Member
 
Corny Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Runcorn, Cheshire
Posts: 667
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Throttle restrictor is a T shaped piece of metal, it sits on the throttle body where the cable connects to the throttle body, it stops it rotating fully.
__________________
Currently Riding: 2016 GSXR-1000 Moto GP
2014 SV650S L2 in white/blue - SOLD
SV650 1999 - SOLD
Lexmoto Street 125cc - SOLD
Shineray XY125GY - SOLD
Corny Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-17, 04:09 PM   #14
johna6968
Junior Member
 
johna6968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 19
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corny Gizmo View Post
Throttle restrictor is a T shaped piece of metal, it sits on the throttle body where the cable connects to the throttle body, it stops it rotating fully.
Thanks for the info but no restrictors on my throttle bodies after checking. They open fully manually. Its the throttle tube that hits its housing first. Throttle cable free play is adjusted coerrectly too. The last bit of throttle body that isnt opening Im now putting down to an unmodified R6 throttle tube on my bike. I was taken back by not even having quarter of a turn for full throttle, seems thats roughly correct. With a bit of jiggery pokery should have it sorted.. John
__________________
Its better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it..

gt50 ybr125x2 gn125 er500 kle500 600monster cbr600f yzf600r gsf600n gsr600 fzs600 600foxeyex2 xj6s fz6sx2 kle650 sv650s gsxr750 gsf1200s
johna6968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-17, 04:53 PM   #15
Blapper
Member
 
Blapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Rochester,Kent.
Posts: 806
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

If your bike is a pointy, you do need to file back the stop using the original tube as a template. I've done this on sl0th's bike. If it is a curvy (like mine), it is a straight fit.
Blapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-17, 08:43 AM   #16
johna6968
Junior Member
 
johna6968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 19
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sl0th86 View Post
Yeah i recently put an R6 throttle tube on my K5 and you actually have to cut/file both sides so it opens and closes fully, not alot of people actually do that so im guessing it was just chucked on with no mods to the throttle
It does seem that way and did take a moment or two for the penny to drop on the throttle issue. Some fine tuning and Im sure all will be well Thankyou for all the replies and suggestions
__________________
Its better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it..

gt50 ybr125x2 gn125 er500 kle500 600monster cbr600f yzf600r gsf600n gsr600 fzs600 600foxeyex2 xj6s fz6sx2 kle650 sv650s gsxr750 gsf1200s
johna6968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-17, 12:16 PM   #17
jagryan85
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Make sure you are ready for extra boomf in acceleration!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-17, 12:47 PM   #18
johna6968
Junior Member
 
johna6968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 19
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagryan85 View Post
Make sure you are ready for extra boomf in acceleration!!
Im not sure I'd notice as its pretty much had most of its boomf from the day I bought it..
__________________
Its better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it..

gt50 ybr125x2 gn125 er500 kle500 600monster cbr600f yzf600r gsf600n gsr600 fzs600 600foxeyex2 xj6s fz6sx2 kle650 sv650s gsxr750 gsf1200s
johna6968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-17, 01:25 PM   #19
jagryan85
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Even with a partly opening throttle?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-17, 01:26 PM   #20
Red ones
Member
Mega Poster
 
Red ones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 1,416
Default Re: Newbie from Cheshire question

Just changing the grip isn't going to improve the acceleration. It will only reduce the amount you have to twist your wrist.

If you want to improve your acceleration you need to either change the engine or replace the gearing which then reduces the top speed.
Red ones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello! Newbie from Cheshire speedyctr Idle Banter 5 28-10-11 08:30 AM
Newbie to all newbies and experienced riders / question. tonyk Bikes - Talk & Issues 17 03-06-08 08:12 PM
Another question from 'newbie' me.... 1world2wheels SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking 3 11-06-06 10:30 AM
Question the newbie Law Idle Banter 19 13-04-06 11:13 AM
A newbie question. Jintel Idle Banter 5 03-03-06 09:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.