SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 21-08-10, 09:08 PM   #1
Nicho..!

Post SV flat battery - causes?

Went to work yesterday, bike was fine, came out of work that night, put the key in and nothing, no lights, ziltch..! Got the mechanic out, started the bike with a booster, it fired up, but with protest, sputtering, miss firing, dying out and back firing, rev counter was also dropping off then on again when revs were high, finally popped loud and died. I have no bike knowledge and any help or ideas would be gratefully recieved.
Thanks in advance, Nicho..!
Old 21-08-10, 09:37 PM   #2
suzukigt380paul

Default Re: SV, died in it sleep..!

hi had a similar problem on my bandit 6,and it was a dead battery,replaced battery and all is well again.
Old 21-08-10, 09:45 PM   #3
aaron020873

i'm no mechanic but if it started with a booster, i would change the battery to start with, batteries can be fine one minute and then dead the next.
Old 21-08-10, 09:53 PM   #4
Razor

take battery out and charge it up, then put it back in and check charge rate
Old 21-08-10, 10:04 PM   #5
suzukigt380paul

9 times out of 10 if the battery is flat it wont take a charge evan if the battery isnt terminally dead,modern batteries dont like being run down,the fastest way to charge it is with the engine running if it will charge at all,and never use a car charger,
Old 22-08-10, 12:25 PM   #6
Sid Squid
No, I don't lend tools.
Mega Poster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicho..! View Post