SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 03-03-06, 08:36 AM   #1
DanAbnormal

Default PIcked up my new SV yesterday.

This is my first SV.

Well I got my new shiny K5 SV650S (fully faired in blue). The showroom had a new K5 in stock which was aboiut £400 cheaper than the K6 so it made perfick sense. After a brief ride yesterday through some snow and an early morning commute down the M25 this morning I have noticed a few things.

1. The riding position puts a lot of strain on the wrists. After about 20 mins my wrists were quite sore. I'm hoping I'll get used to it.

2. The seat is rock hard and very uncomfortable. Again I only noticed this today after a 40 minute commute but I cannot imagine at this point doing any lenghty rides. I'm sure I will get used to it though as I've been riding a comfy and soft zephy 550 for the past 6 months so my butt has been spoilt.

3. Throttle snatch. When riding on an uneven surface I find the throttle to be a little snatchy. I've noticed this on many fuel injection bikes though so it's something I'll have to get used to.

Now for the oh so good points:

The noise. Even with the standard can on the engine roars into life at the touch of the starter button. I was sat at some traffic lights last night and I revved the engine a few times which got the attention of many passers by.