SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 01-03-07, 09:23 PM   #1
Horton86

Default Potentially too tall SV rider?

I recently took a MSF course and can’t wait to get that first bike. After extensive reading and research I have narrowed the search down to about three bikes. The sv650n is my number one choice by a long shot. I love the versatility, torque of the v-twin and the naked look of the sv. I’m also a poor college student so price is a big factor.
My other choices are the FZ6 (pros; height cons; inline four not v-twin, price) and V-strom650 (pros; height, versatility and the v-twin, cons; price, looks, call me shallow)

The only real problem that is preventing me from fully committing to the sv is that I’m 6’2” (188cm) and worried about being cramped.
I have read a lot of posts about lowering the bike but I could not find any about making the seat/peg/ground length larger. I want to be able to do a little touring (nothing huge) and day rides but it will mainly serve to commute to class and to have a my own piece of mind.

Any advice from taller and normal sized riders would be greatly appreciated. And smaller riders if you want to.
Thanks.
Old 01-03-07, 09:26 PM   #2
kcowgergmm

Default Re: Potentially too tall SV rider?

i am 6ft 3 and i have no problems with it it fits me fine i never thought of it as a problem
Old 01-03-07, 09:26 PM   #3
Cloggsy

The naked SV has lower foot pegs than the SVS, plus 6'2" isn't that big... My boss is 6'10" & he used to ride a CBR600F
Old 01-03-07, 09:33 PM   #4
DoubleD

I'm 6' 3" as well, fits like a glove.... no problems here.
Old 01-03-07, 10:12 PM   #5
Caddy2000

Yep, I'm 6'3" as well and have a pointy SV650S and love it - you should have no problems mate
Old 01-03-07, 10:19 PM   #6
sinbad

6'4" and my S feels fine.
Old 01-03-07, 11:03 PM   #7
lucky strike