SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 18-04-11, 05:42 PM   #1
benparker

Default Front cylinder not running

Hi, so here goes my first post:

I've got a 1999 SV650s. About 2 years ago it stopped running on the front cylinder down the motorway while it was raining (tends to happen when it's raining). I took the bike to the dealer and they charged me over £200 to sort it out, I think it was just a dirty front carb. It never ran quite right after that and the same thing happened again about 6 months ago (in the rain on the motorway - not fun). Being a skint student I decided it would be easiest to buy a used set of carbs off ebay for £40. Fitted them and the bike ran fine. Idles very high, about 2500rpm when the idle screw is turned right down but absolutely fine when riding and fuel economy was good so left it.

You've guessed it, the same thing has happened again with the second set of carbs, this time it wasn't raining but happened immediately after I filled up. It would run on the back cylinder for about a minute and then the front one would kick in while riding and would be fine. However yesterday it took about 15mins just to get the back cylinder revving and the front took longer to kick in. I've checked the plugs, back ones lovely, front ones a bit white as expected but both have a good spark. Any suggestions on what to d now? My thoughts are that the same problem can't be a coincidence or am I best just buying another set of used carbs?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Ben
Old 18-04-11, 05:49 PM   #2
benparker

Default Re: Front cylinder not running

Bit of extra (probably irrelevant) info:

The bike seems to get through quite a lot of oil and the exhaust smoke tends to be a bit blue especially on start up.