SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 10-04-11, 04:19 PM   #1
cornish lass

Default Lowering the seat height?

I'm new to all this so hello to all. Just returned to 2 wheels after 5 years off and have treated myself to a beautiful SV650. Having remembered why I love 2 wheels so much on this fantastic weekend, would just love to be able to get my feet on the floor a little easier. Have looked on internet and don't really want to pay £100 for a seat which will make it 10ml lower, doesn't seem worth it. Any ideas about how to help? I'm not very technical so don't know about changing suspension etc. All ideas welcome. Just hope I can stop being so wobbly when I come to a standstill, tis a bit embarrassing, my mate suggested stabilisers!!
Old 10-04-11, 04:59 PM   #2
rictus01
Mega Poster

Default Re: Lowering the seat height?

Hi and welcome, three main ways to approach this, cutdown seat, change the dogbones (suspension link plates) of get a pair of ladystar boots (have an inbuilt raised sole), I've never needed any myself, but all three work.

you can get a seat remodeled for about £50 if you find a local upholsterer, it's just a case of removing the cover and chopping some of the foam away, the dogbone solution is effective but be aware it does change the geometry of the bike so the front forks would need adjusting as well to maintain the balance of the bike, the boots are a good way as the bike remains standard, you may need to adjust the gear and rear brake pedals a little to fit, but nothing other than that, a lot of folks love them.

HTH

Cheers Mark.
Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, 'Wow! What a Ride!